deleting an activity deletes it alltogether with its links. dissolving it just removes the activity but keeps the links. for example say you have 3 activities. linked to each other with FS. if you delete the middle activity, its links will be removed too. but if you just dissolve it, the link between activity 1 and 3 will still remain.